The University of Kashmir was established on 5th September 1969. Initially in 1948, it was a part of the University of Jammu and Kashmir, which then existed as an affiliating and examining body. Subsequently, however, it developed into a full-fledged University with the objective of sustaining academic excellence in J&K at large.

In 1956, the University of Jammu & Kashmir started Post graduation in Economics and Geology at Jammu and English at Srinagar. In 1958, three more Departments of Mathematics, Urdu and Hindi were opened at Srinagar, and the Arts Faculty building was the first to come up at the Campus in 1959. In 1965, the University of Jammu and Kashmir was bifurcated for the Jammu and Kashmir regions with common Pro-Vice Chancellor and Vice Chancellor.

In pursuance of the recommendations of the Jammu and Kashmir Commission of Enquiry under the chairmanship of Dr.Gagendra gadkhar, the University of Jammu and Kashmir was spilt into two separate full-fledged Universities, one at Srinagar and the other at Jammu. The former has jurisdiction over whole Kashmir region including Ladakh The University main campus is situated at Hazratbal, on the western side of the famous Dal Lake of Srinagar, and has an approximate area of 250 acres of land stretching over Amar Singh Bagh, Naseem Bagh and Mirza Bagh campuses. Besides, it has newly established campuses namely South Campus at Ananatnag and North Campus at Delina Baramulla: three more campuses, one each at Kargil, Leh and Kupwara are in the offing.

Since its inception in 1969, there has been substantial increase in the student enrolment at the Undergraduate, Postgraduate and Research levels. The faculty strength has also been on the increase. Satisfied with its over all performance, the University was accredited grade "A" in 2002 by the NAAC as was/is mandated by the UGC. Further it has been awarded "GRADE A+" with CGPA 3.31 by the NAAC on 20-05-2019.

There are currently 11 Faculties, 38 P.G. Departments, 12 Research and other Centers. This is excluding the Central Library, Directorate of Distance Education, Directorate of Sports, Transport Workshop, Mini Hospital, Proctoral Wing, Hostel Management,etc. The University has affiliated with it 39 Govt. Degree Colleges, 74 Non-government B.Ed.Colleges, 13 Constituent/Professional Colleges, 5 Govt. and 8 private lymanaged Oriental Colleges.

The University is providing teacher education at secondary level (B.Ed. Programme) through 74 Non-Government affiliated B.Ed. colleges, P.G. Department of Education, Centre of Distance Education and Government College of Education, M.A. Road Srinagar. Around 19,000 candidates, both local and non-local, are annually enrolled for B.Ed. Programme.

Admission Query Form

Our College Students: